The University Network

Atlas Shrugged Scholarship – $20,000 – Apply by April 29

Atlas Shrugged is a 1957 novel by Ayn Rand. Rand’s fourth and last novel, it was also her longest, and the one she considered to be her magnum opus in the realm of fiction writing.  So if you haven’t read the novel, it may be worth the read.

The deadline is March 29.  There are 84 scholarships being offered as follows:

  • 1ST PLACE  –  $20,000 – 1 Winner
  • 2ND PLACE – $2,000 – 3 Winners
  • 3RD PLACE – $1,000 – 5 Winners
  • FINALISTS – $100 -25 Winners
  • SEMIFINALISTS – $50 – 50 Winners.
  • No application is required. Contest is open to students worldwide, except where void or prohibited by law. Essays must be written in English only.
  • Entrant must be a 12th-grader, college undergraduate or graduate student. Verification of school enrollment will be required for all winning entrants.
  • To avoid disqualification, mailed-in essays must include a stapled cover sheet with the following information:
    1.  your name and address;
    2.  your email address (if available);
    3. the name and address of your school;
    4. topic selected (#1, 2 or 3 from the “Topics” tab);
    5.  your current grade level; and
    6. (optional) the name of the teacher who assigned the essay if you are completing it for classroom credit. Essay must be no fewer than 800 and no more than 1,600 words in length, double-spaced. Spelling errors and/or written corrections (by anyone) found on the essay will count against the final grade and should be omitted before submission.One entry per student.
  • Essay must be submitted online or postmarked by April 29, no later than 11:59 PM, Pacific standard time.

SEE ALSO: The Complete Guide to Scholarship Hacks



When not surfing the big waves, or training for the Iron Man, Scholarship Guru searches the web for the best scholarships and new insights into Nietzsche’s philosophy.